Monday, June 22, 2009

Special Duties - The Punk Singles Collection (1999)

Hello hello, I'm back and I bring you another great band from the late 70's. A band that already had one of the earliest form of Street Punk, without having a clue that 15 years later it would change the sound of Punk Rock. 'Special Duties' was formed in 1977 in Colchester, Essex (England). Released their debut single 'Violent Society' and 'Colchester Council' in 1980 by 'Charnel House Records'. Managed to released a few more singles and an EP before the release of their first LP '77 in 82' in 1982 by 'Rondelet Records'. That same year they declared war to hippy anarchist band 'Crass', acussing them of destroying the scene. Which led to the released of the 'Bullshit Crass' EP in '82. Which was censorship by many distributors and refused to stock this material. In 1983 the band released their last single 'Punk Rocker', and it was not well distributed. That same year the band split up. Twelve years later, 'Captain Oi! Records' reissued '77 in 82', and encouraged by the response to it the band got back together, playing at 1995's 'Fuck Reading at the Brixton Academy'. In 1999 'Captain Oi! Records' released this fantastic CD 'The Punk Singles Collection', containing the bands best songs from 1977 till the late 90's. The band is still active and still playing their Oi!/77/Streetpunk songs all over Europe. Funny, and beleive that the sound of Street Punk was being played in the late 70's, and no one had a clue. Enjoy!

1. Violent Society
2. Colchester Council
3. Violent Society
4. It Ain't Our Fault
5. Colchester Council
6. Police State
7. We Gotta Fight
8. It Just Ain't Me
9. Special Duties
10. Bullshit Crass
11. You're Doing Yourself No Good
12. Punk Rocker
13. Too Much Talking
14. Mutt
15. London Town
16. Judge and Jury
17. Shadow
18. Wembley! Wembley!
19. Up the U's
20. Lost Cause or Not
21. MRR Rules
22. I Wish It Could Be '77
23. Gary Gilmore's Eyes
24. Johnny Won't Go to Heaven
25. Sid Vicious Was Innocent
26. Tommy Gun


Sunday, June 7, 2009

The Violators - The No Future Years (2005)

Here's another classic from the early 80's. 'The Violators' was formed in 1981 in New Mills, England and it was a mixture of punks and skins in their line up. In their beiginnings the band sounded very similar to 'Vice Squad' and 'The Expelled'. The band made their debut on the 'A Country Fit For Heroes' 12" in 1981 by 'No Future Records'. The following year they released their first EP titled 'Gangland' followed by 'Summer of 81' in 1982 again by No Future. Few weeks after the release of their second EP, vocalist Helen and guitarrist Coley splited from the band to form their own band call Taboo, but never issued any singles. Meanwhile The Violators have recruited a new vocalist called Louise and guitarist Andy who was formally with "Skin Graft". The second generation of The Violators changed their sound. This time with heavier vocals and songs. The band always kept their clockwork sound, which they are known for. Violators released a few more singles, but never a full length. Later in 2005, 'Captain Oi! Records' once again managed to get the tracks from all of their singles and compilations they appeared and relesead this fantastic CD. The band split up in the mid 80's, and marked history with their clockwork images and noises in the punk culture. Enjoy!

1. Die With Dignity
2. Government Stinks
3. Pointless Slaughter
4. Gangland
5. Fugitive
6. Summer of '81
7. Live Fast Die Young
8. Life on the Red Line
9. Crossings of Sangsara - Violators, Marchington
10. Affections - Violators, Taboo
11. VSlow Down - Violators, Taboo
12. Young Blades - Violators, Taboo
13. Revenge (Crossings of Sangsara) - Violators, Marchington
14. Life on the Red Line


Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Frankie Flame & The Whalers - Oslo Oi! (1997)

Oi! Oi! Oi!, I bring you this rarity from Norway. I don't have much information about this EP. All I know is that it came out in 1997 and I'm pretty sure it was released by Frankie Flame, even though they are a british punk/pop band. They still seemed to release D.I.Y. style vinyls. The Whalers were a skinhead band from Oslo as you can see, and for this EP they feature Frankie Flame. I have read somewhere else, and I think they released a previous 7 inch, a tribute to the local football team VĂ¥lerenga, and I'm guessing 'Oslo Oi!' was their second 7 inch release. I also saw one of their members in the 90's skinhead documentry 'World Of Skinhead'. Even though they came out in the mid 90's (I think), The Whalers still managed to have a classic Oi! sound. A friend of mine told me they managed to make it to the early 2000's, but the band split up a few times, and everytime they reformed, sometimes they never showed up to their gigs. Sorry guys, this is all the information that I have from The Whalers. If you want to know more about 'Frankie Flame', check their myspace, here.

1. Oslo Oi!
2. Hammers
3. Lula
4. Love Ain't Rock'n'Roll